Boy and Girl things

So I just watched a movie and it made me think. The movie was about this girl who pretended to be her twin brother just to be able to play soccer and to proof that even she is a girl she can play as good as the boys. I think it is stupid to judge if someone is good in something by gender. Girls can play soccer and boys can dance ballet. What is the problem with that?

I remember when I was in fourth grade I cut my hair from long to short. I was not the type of girl that wears dresses and skirts or loves pink. In fact I hated it. All I wanted to do was build Legos or play in the dirt. My brother and I used to have a fort in the bushes behind our house and I used to play in it all day with him and his friends. Even in kindergarten when everyone was wearing costumes I stood out. All the other girls were dressed as princesses but I was a witch. I still remember them screaming and running away from me. When I got in seventh grade some kids in school started to make fun of me because of my hair. That was when I started to wear beanies and hats. I took my hair and hid it under them. In the end of eight grade I decided to let my hair grow but I still put it under heats and beanies. All the comments from the other kids made me feel so uncomfortable with myself. In fact I hated myself just for not being a typical girl. In ninth grade I finally found friends in school and I decided to leave for the US. I was so afraid of losing my friends again but the opposite happened and even all of them are a grade above me now I could not have better friends.

Now I know that it is ok to be different because my friends like me for who I am. I still wear beanies a lot. I don’t know why but I feel much more confident when I wear them. One thing that changed is that I do own two dresses now but I still feel weird in them. I still love to shopp in the boy section and I am still not about all that girly stuff like makeup and getting hair done.

But to come to an end. The thing I want to say is that you should not divide between girl and boys stuff all the time and you should not create the perfect image of a girl or a boy. All it does is make children uncomfortable  with themselves. It is totally okay if a girl wants to wear “boy” clothes or a boy wants to do gymnastics because in the end it is what defines them and it expresses their personality. It is important to teach kids to be comfortable with their body and with themselves. Otherwise they will never be truly happy.

Well that is all for today. Thanks for reading 🙂

Good night

Just a blank space

6 thoughts on “Boy and Girl things

  1. I completly agree with you. When I was much younger I wanted to play baseball. I wasnt allowed to by the baseball park because I am a girl, they didnt even bother to see if I had any skill. I was so angry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

