Talking About My Time Abroad

Talking About My Time AbroadOn my last post  the wonderful Zoey asked me some questions about my time in the US last school year and I figured I share my answers with all of you. Also I am home for over a year now. I left Utah June 4th and came home June 5th.

What are the difference you found between Germany and the US?

Where do I start? The first thing is that in the US people are a lot nicer than in Germany and they come up to you. In Germany everyone is kind of for themselves and you don’t really talk to strangers.

Second in Germany I am way more independent. In the US there was no bus or train I could take. My host dad had to drive me whenever I wanted to go somewhere because everything was far away. Also in the US I got treated like a kid again while in Germany people were treating me more like an adult. For example in high school the teachers are constantly communicating with your parents. In Germany teachers never really talk to the parents. They expect you to do all your work on your own.

School is a lot easier in the US and you can choose your classes. There are so many fun classes I wish I could take in Germany such as creative writing. You have to work less than you have to work in Germany. In the US you play your instruments or sports in school while in Germany you do it outside of school. We also have no school spirit in Germany. We don’t even have a word for it in German.

There are a lot of cultural differences too, like the pledge of allegiance or singing the national anthem before every school game. In Germany we don’t have a pledge and the only time we sing our anthem is before an international soccer game. Oh and the food is different.

Almost everything is bigger in the US. Except the movie theaters. They were actually pretty small.

What did you like in the US?

I really liked that school wasn’t as stressful and the school spirit. I liked that I got to travel a lot and that I got to stay with such an awesome family. I am thankful that I got to spend my  time with them in such a beautiful State.

What did you not like about the US?

I was a little bit disappointed I got to go to a small high school. My school in Germany is pretty small and I was hoping to get the experience of going to a big school. I also didn’t like that sports are divided in seasons because I wanted to swim all year.

What were things you did not expect to miss about Germany?

I didn’t expect to miss the German food culture that much. I missed everything from when I used to eat and what. I also didn’t expect to miss public transport that much and my own bed.

Did people treat you different because you were German?

The only thing I can think of is that my teachers graded me a little different in the beginning of the school year when I had some troubles with understanding everything.

Any stereotypes or racist comments that offended you?

One time in class we got divided into different groups and had to discuss a topic. Each group had a leader which had to lead the discussion. In the end of class my teacher compared each group leader with a famous leader. She compared my group leader with Hitler. It was kind of a shock for me.


That’s about all for today

Lots of Love

Just A Blank Space

Twitter, Instagram, Bloglovin’

12 thoughts on “Talking About My Time Abroad

Leave a Reply

