Guest Post-The Brain of a Linguist

Hi there!

As you are reading this I am on the Alps, trying to survive those long daily hikes. I didn’t want to leave you without anything so here is a Guest Post by the beautiful Em.

100_8848.JPGI have the brain of a linguist.

When I was six, my mum bought me a French picture book which I read over and over and over again until it’s cover became loose and tattered.

I read my dad’s German dictionary cover-to-cover when I was nine, fascinated by the unusual words and the way they felt as they tumbled out of my mouth.

When I was eleven, I spent a fortnight in Austria where, by the end of the trip, I had compiled a lengthy list of German words and my rough translations.

I started learning French at school when I was twelve, childishly excited as I learnt and recited those first few precious words.

When I was fourteen I started a German online course which I still go back to every now and then for fun.

I went to Berlin when I was fourteen and got to experience the surreal feeling of being surrounded by a different language, being in ‘another world’ almost.

Somewhere along the way I learnt a bit of British Sign Language – the alphabet and the UK Scout promise to be more specific.

Now I’m sixteen and I like to listen to Dutch music, read French versions of Harry Potter and dream of future plans of travelling and become bi- or multi-lingual.

I have the brain of a linguist – do you?


Don’t forget to check out Em’s blog. Just click here and leave her a nice comment.

6 thoughts on “Guest Post-The Brain of a Linguist

  1. I love languages! I’m trilingual at the moment, but I’d love to be fluent in more languages and I’d really love to get better at American Sign Language! And you listen to Dutch music? Which songs? (I live in the Netherlands)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love languages! I speak five (Spanish, English, French, German and Mandarin Chinese) and am studying International reations and Translation + Interpreting (double major). If you ever feel like practicing, ich konnte dir helfen ❤

    Like

  3. nah. i mean i find some languages pretty almost, like French and stuff, but tbh learning them is boring for me, in the way we do it at school at least. if i was actually learning it more interactively it could be cool though if that makes sense. i think it’s cool that you know all this stuff though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

