My Childhood Is Over

Let’s face it. My childhood is almost over. I realized that now and I am not as excited as I always thought I would be.

But it is not just the fact that I realized that. It is also because so many thinks changed. My elementary school got torn down and is being rebuild, the library got reorganized and all those things I loved as a child are gone. The giant map of the world, the stuffed animal and the shelf completely overloaded with books. All gone.

This week I talked to my old math teacher and she referred to me as an adult. In German language you have two different words for “you”. One is used if you talk to a friend or a kid and one when you talk to someone who is an adult and someone you respect. It was really weird.

And then there is the fact that I am hopefully getting my drivers licence on Wednesday next week, which makes me feel even older.

In a little more than six months I will turn 18 and officially become an adult. I don’t want to grow up and have a lot of responsibilities. I already have to think what  I want to do after school but I am not ready to be old.

My childhood is over and I have to accept that.

Lots of Love

Just A Blank Space

 

11 thoughts on “My Childhood Is Over

  1. You’ll be an adult. So what? Who says you can’t be stay the way you are? You says you can’t love fluffy unicorns because you’re turning 18? You can become an adult and still cherish that inner child of yours. Keep it alive because once you let that child go life becomes one bitter pill to swallow. I’m 28 now and my profile picture is a stuffed animal I bought over 20 years ago and I still have it. It’s my childhood hero. Do I have to forget everything about him just because I’m over 18? God no! You’re childhood might be over but you can keep the memories and whenever it’s appropriate (and sometimes when it’s not) you can still enjoy being the child you were. That’s why you have to keep that inner child alive! Good luck for your driving test!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your childhood may be over, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. You still have memories, of your school and your library, and though you’ll move on with your life, those memories will remain as part of your childhood 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I turned 24 this past May, thats when it really sunk in for me that my “fun” years are almost gone… or at least I hear your early twenties are your best years.. it is really sad.Theres so many kids your age that I manage at my day job that arent aware of the fact its the easiest years of your life. Its good you have your life in perspective 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just tuned 19 and guess what I’m still not an adult.. It never feels like I have “fully grown up” and i think it won’t change in the next couple of years. You will always feel like yourself, sometimes with some more responsibilities sometimes less. Adulthood won’t hit you like a giant wave that suddenly breaks down right above your head.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m going to be 20 in just over a month… supposedly I’ve been a legal adult for 2 years but now I’m officially leaving the teens! I’m just going to tell myself and everyone else that I’m twen-teen not twenty 😉 But in all seriousness, although it’s weird thinking about being an “adult”, it’s still okay to be a child at heart!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

