Killing Creativity

Killing Creativity

Creativity: The ability to create meaningful new ideas, originality, progressiveness, or imagination.

A lot of people say I am creative and to be honest I do like to hear that from time to time. But sometimes it reaches a point where telling me how creative I am is actually killing my creativity. It puts pressure on me to create even more and even prettier things. Pressure and force are the two worst things to kill my imagination. How often do I sit in front of a blank page, staring it down, trying to force myself to be creative?

But it doesn’t have to be the pressure to create that is killing my imagination. Most of the time it is the pressure to study, get good grades and always give my best.

A free mind is the key to creativity.

It is easier said than done. I know. I mean this is me talking. The person who overthinks everything and always wants to give her best. I don’t think I will ever reach the state of my mind being completely free at all and yet I manage to be creative from time to time.

First, you have to realize that creating something new can be what frees your mind. It is paradox. It doesn’t matter what you create and if it looks perfect in the end. Nothing ever will look perfect anyways and that is totally fine.

 

Perfection is killing creativity

You have to tell yourself that whatever you do will be good enough because at least you tried. Don’t look at someone’s work and think you can never ever create something beautiful like it. See it as a goal and practice until you get there. As long as you believe you can reach everything you want.

20170418_084858379_iOS

Sometimes we are the worst thing that can happen to our creativity.

But that doesn’t mean we can’t get inspired at all and if everything fails we can still copy someone else’s work to practice, as long as we give credits to the original artist!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Creativity is a wonderful thing and it always will be. We just have to learn how to find it.

Lots of Love

Just A Blank Space

TwitterInstagram, Bloglovin’Tumblr

4 thoughts on “Killing Creativity

  1. Very true! It’s same when a teacher tells me to read a book for the vacations. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE reading books but if the same book has been given to me as homework and I have the pressure finish it… Worst experience ever!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

